Ultimate Guide to Conversion Rate Optimization for Online Stores

If you click to purchase a product or service based on our independent recommendations and impartial reviews, we may receive a commission. Learn more

The conversion. The final, all-important stage of the sales funnel where your customer decides whether to proceed with their purchase or abandon their cart. This moment is delicate, and a lot of factors could stop your customer from taking that final step.

If you’re seeing a pattern of low conversion or you’re looking to boost your sales, there are plenty of simple changes you can make to your site that will help encourage your customers to convert. In this article, I’ll walk you through the key steps to take to boost your conversion rate and grow your business online!

Let’s dive in…

I’ve rewritten parts of this page to give you clearer, more actionable instructions throughout. This includes how to optimize your site’s conversion rate, how to analyze and measure the results, and specific improvements to elements of CRO, like product pages. Along with some new images, these changes will help you understand CRO and feel confident implementing it on your site.

Understanding Conversion Rate Optimization

Conversion rate optimization (often referred to as just CRO) is pretty easy to get your head around. It’s simply the process of optimizing your website design for more conversions.

A conversion can be any valuable action, such as signing up for a newsletter, following your brand on social media, or filling out a contact form. However, in ecommerce, making a sale is typically seen as the most valuable conversion.

So:

Conversion =  when a customer does something valuable 

Optimization = improving your website to drive more conversions

How To Calculate Your Conversion Rate

The “rate” part of CRO is simply how conversions are measured. The most widely accepted calculation for your conversion rate is:

(Number of conversions ÷ Total number of visitors) x 100 = your conversion rate percentage. 

For example, if your website gets 500 visitors a day and makes 10 sales per day, you would calculate the conversion rate like this:

(10 ÷ 500) x 100 = 2% 

…this means you convert 2% of your site visitors into paying customers.

The Importance of Conversion Rate Optimization

There are many benefits of conversion rate optimization. Improving your ecommerce CRO will:

  • Ensure you have a sustainable revenue model
  • Drive profitability
  • Improve user experience and increase customer satisfaction
  • help you create a better return on investment (ROI) from your sales and marketing

Key Elements of Conversion Rate Optimization

In this section, I’ll offer some insight into the key areas that can be analyzed, tested, and improved to help boost your conversion rate.

Website Design and User Experience

How your website looks and how users interact with it will have a drastic impact on your conversion rate. If buyers find your site slow or confusing to navigate they’ll lose trust and patience and shop elsewhere.

Here’s what you can do:

Clear and Compelling Product Pages

three customer reviews with pictures on Shein website
Shein is a great example of a site that uses UGC on product pages. The fast-fashion site uses customers’ reviews and photographs to boost trust and increase conversions. Source: Website Builder Expert

Product page optimization is a key part of converting customers. In fact, 85% of customers base their purchasing decisions on product photos and descriptions. Here’s how to make your product pages stand out:

Top Tip: User generated content is authentic and relatable, which means buyers love it – especially on product pages! Introducing a points-based system or offering discount codes to customers that share reviews can be a great way to gather it!

Call-to-Action Optimization

This site uses the phrase “Shop Now” to clearly indicate the action taken when the customer clicks this CTA. Source: Website Builder Expert

Calls to action are incredibly important when it comes to optimizing your conversion rates. After all, it’s the exact wording you use to ask a visitor to click that all-important button or do that all-important ‘thing’.

When writing your call to action text, you should:

  • Use clear and concise messaging
  • Keep wording short and to the point
  • Place it in a visible position on your website
  • Use A/B testing to find the combination of placement and messaging that works best

Trust and Security Factors

When someone buys online, they’re trusting the store to keep their details safe and secure. Here’s how to limit friction and develop trust in your site from your customers:

  • Use trust badges and certifications such as an SSL
  • Implement a secure payment processing system
  • Publish a clear and easy-to-understand privacy policy and data protection policy
Top Tip: Many website builders like Shopify and Squarespace provide free SSL certificates and offer native payment processors with cheaper fees than third party payment gateways. You’ll be providing security for your buyers and saving money while doing it!

How to Optimize Your Site’s Conversion Rate

So, now you understand which areas of your website you can optimize for better conversions, it’s time to take a look at some of the specific conversion rate optimization strategies and approaches you can take to help improve these areas.

Gather and Analyze Data

We no longer live in a world where we make business decisions based on a hunch, a feeling, or a coin toss. Moving our businesses online allows us to tap into a range of data to help inform our choices.

You can gather and view this data by connecting your website to an analytical tool such as Google Analytics, or by using the built-in analytical tools that come with your chosen website builder.

These platforms allow us to draw data that can tell us important things, such as where in the sales funnel visitors are stopping, or which product pages perform the best. By tracking user behavior across your site, you can see which user journeys result in a conversion and which don’t – helping you better understand how to improve performance.

Experiment With A/B Testing

A/B testing is the process of testing two variations on your website in order to see which one performs best.

For example, you may test two product pages that are identical apart from the CTA wording. By using analytical tools, you can then see which of the two CTA options performs better.

When A/B testing it is important to remember two things:

  1. Only test one aspect of a page, otherwise, it becomes impossible to tell which aspect has impacted the performance of the page.
  2. Aim to have similar numbers and types of visitors go to each page to ensure a fair test.

Personalize Your Site For Different Customer Segments

With so much noise in the digital world, we like it when a brand or online store is able to create a personalized shopping experience using tailored suggestions and speaking to us directly – it helps us feel valued and understood.

This is why personalization and segmentation is such a powerful tool. This can be applied in various ways including:

  • Dynamic content tailored to the visitor viewing
  • Automated recommendations based on personal information and past purchases
  • Using a CRM to ensure that all customer service reps have access to all relevant information
  • Using email and data segmentation to ensure advertisements are relevant

Find Out More

How to Implement and Measure CRO Efforts

In this section, we explore some of the best ways to implement your CRO efforts and how to measure the impact they are having on your business.

CRO Implementation Process

Ready to get started with implementing CRO across your website? Here is a simple process to follow:

  1. Set your goals and objectives. For example, you may set a goal to increase your conversion rate from 1% to 5% in six months. Follow the SMART structure for setting these objectives.
  2. Conduct a website CRO audit. This will help you understand exactly where your website currently is. It may also help you identify areas for improvement.
  3. List optimization areas. Prioritize these based on what you believe will have the biggest impact on the conversion rate.
  4. Implement your changes and make improvements

Key Performance Indicators for CRO

Once you have followed the implementation process outlined above you’ll want to ensure that you’re tracking the most relevant Key Performance Indicators (KPI) on your site. This will allow you to monitor progress and adjust your processes and tools accordingly.

The primary KPIs used in this area include:

Conversion Rate

We have already discussed what this KPI is and why it is important. To calculate it simply:

(Number of conversions/Number of visitors) * 100

Average Order Value (AOV)

This KPI will highlight how much the average customer spends on each order. To calculate it, use this formula:

(Total revenue / total number of orders) * 100

Bounce Rate and Exit Rate

Your bounce rate reflects the number of visitors that visit your website but leave after viewing only one page. Your exit rate on the other hand tells you exactly how many people have exited your website from a page, even if they visited other pages before that.

These two KPIs help you understand where visitors are leaving your site before making a purchase.

Click-Through Rates (CTR)

Your CTR can relate to any button or hyperlinked text on your website. It is simply calculated by dividing the number of times the link is clicked by the number of page visits.

This can be applied to any conversion which requires a link click and will demonstrate how well that link is performing.

Tools and Resources for CRO

Here are some helpful tools to help you get started:

Conversion Rate Optimization: Summary

CRO is absolutely essential for businesses that want to generate a better return on their time and financial investment. Without considering CRO, your efforts in web design, marketing, and smart product selection can be wasted.

By comparing your website against our five elements of CRO, you should be able to identify the areas to improve, whether that’s your checkout page or your product descriptions. Our conversion rate optimization checklist is a great overview of the steps you can take to improve these issues. If you need some help, browse some real CRO examples in action and see how you can apply them to your own store!

Finally, remember to track and analyze any changes you make to your store, and don’t be afraid to experiment!

Written by:
I’m a content writer for Website Builder Expert. I’m a bit of a business and marketing nerd and love sharing my knowledge and experience to help others achieve their business goals. From complex engineering and brewing to international events and brand design agencies, I’ve worked in marketing roles for well over 10 years now. During this time I developed a skill for turning complex (and occasionally dull) information into exciting, easy-to-understand, and actionable content. I also set up my own content marketing consultancy and launched my own ecommerce business on Shopify.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *